Excerpt from Frederick News-Post:
This week, Preservation Matters will address two questions received from our readers. First, we were asked about “Lost Frederick,” or buildings that have lost the preservation battle. While unfortunately this is too long a tale for one week, we will address a few notable losses here and continue to periodically highlight Frederick’s lost buildings.
In 2012, Benvenue, a Federal-style stone manor house originally constructed in 1810, was demolished. At 8518 E. Patrick St. (Md. 144) along the historic National Road, this landmark property was annexed into the city of Frederick in 2009. The property is within the boundaries of the northeast tract of the Monocacy Battlefield, which itself was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1973. During the Civil War, Philip Reich, a wealthy farmer, owned the property, which served as a staging ground for Confederate forces and was the site of skirmishes that occurred during the battle. In addition to its role in the Civil War, this property was significant for its association with the agricultural heritage of Frederick County and for its architecture, which reflected the Federal styles popular nationally and locally from about 1780 to 1820.
Another important historic resource was also lost in 2012. A brick manor house and barn built in 1840 at 1100 E. Patrick St. known as Park Hall was demolished. The dwelling, which exhibited Greek Revival and Gothic Revival influences, was built under the ownership of John L. Harding. Harding was a very wealthy Frederick resident who had acquired 222 acres of farmland by 1843. The property also contained a unique, 1820 stone and brick ground barn with decorative brick vent designs, a stone springhouse, brick smokehouse, carriage house and tenant house. Park Hall was significant architecturally and for its association with the city’s agricultural heritage.
We’ll come back to the issue of “Lost Frederick” buildings in future columns, but for now, more questions from our readers.
Under what branch of city government does the commission belong? How are members chosen/appointed?
Historic Preservation Commissioners are appointed to three-year terms by the mayor with the concurrence of the Board of Aldermen. The Planning Department provides staff support to the commission. All commissioners must have a “demonstrated special interest, specific knowledge or professional or academic training in such fields as history, architecture, architectural history, planning, archeology, curation, conservation, landscape architecture, historic preservation, urban design, or related disciplines.” At any given time, at least two members of the commission must meet stricter professional qualifications as set forth by the National Park Service and the U.S. Secretary of the Interior.
What is the appeals process for property owners who have disputes with the commission?
Any person who is aggrieved by a decision of the Historic Preservation Commission may file a petition for judicial review in the Frederick County Circuit Court within 30 days of the decision. The petition must be filed in accordance with the Maryland Rules applicable to judicial review of administrative agency decisions. As an alternative, property owners and applicants are encouraged to consult with city Planning Department staff to explore other solutions to meet project goals.